Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews collects the Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award

TAMPA, Fla. — The Toronto Maple Leafs’ star forward auston matthews picked up the Hart Trophy as NHL Most Valuable Player and the Ted Lindsay Award as NHLPA Most Outstanding Player at the NHL Awards on Tuesday night.

The 24-year-old Matthews scored 60 goals, leading the NHL for the second straight season. He set a Maple Leafs franchise record and the single-season record for most goals by an American-born player. He led the NHL in uniform goals (44), goals per game (0.82), and shots (348). He was tied for sixth in points with 106, the highest total of his career.

“I think it’s a tremendous honor to wear the blue and white, to represent the city of Toronto and to wear the maple leaf every night,” he said. “Any time your name goes down in history, with an organization like that, it’s something I don’t take for granted.”

Matthews garnered 119 first-place votes for the Hart Trophy, which is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA). Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers was second in the voting, while the goalkeeper of the New York Rangers Igor Shesterkin was third. Matthews was the first Maple Leafs player to win the NHLPA Most Outstanding Player Award, which is voted on by the players and was first awarded in 1971. Defenseman for McDavid and Nashville Predators josi roman they were the runners-up to Ted Lindsay. Matthews is the second American-born player to win the award, along with the Chicago Blackhawks star. patrick kane in 2015-16.

“I’m not going to lie to you, it feels great,” Matthews said. “It’s special to have my family here with me. There are a lot of great players in that room.”

The closest vote of the night was for the Norris Trophy, awarded to the best defenseman in the NHL by the PHWA. Colorado Avalanche Defense Cala Makar Norris won his first with 1,631 points in the voting, with 92 first-place votes. Josi was second (1,606) with more first place votes than Makar (98). The point allocation on the ballot, which ranks the top five options, is 10-7-5-3-1. Makar was named on 195 ballots, while Josi was named on 194.

Tampa Bay Lightning Defense Victor Hedman he was third for the Norrises.

Both Hedman and Makar will play in Game 4 of the Stanley Cup Final on Wednesday night.

“I feel like once it’s all said and done, you can enjoy [the award,” Makar said. “But for me right now, I’ve already kinda forgot about it. You have to move on. Obviously, it’s weird circumstances with [the awards] being introduced before the season ends. As a team, we put ourselves in a great place right now. We just have to capitalize on that.”

Shesterkin won the Vezina Trophy as the best goaltender in the League, which is voted on by NHL general managers. The other finalists were finalists. Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames and juuse saros of the Nashville predators.

“It means a lot to me,” said Shesterkin, who completed his third season in the NHL. “I didn’t think about that when I got into the NHL. But sometimes you think maybe I have a chance. In the first preseason game against the Islanders, I didn’t play. A little kid [fan] He showed me a photo of me and it said ‘future winner of the Vezina Trophy’. I think, ‘Why not?’ We have a good team for that.”

Shesterkin led the NHL with a 2.07 goals-against average and a .935 save percentage in 53 games, leading the Rangers to 110 points in the regular season, the third-highest total in franchise history. He was first nominated for Vezina and joined Henrik Lundqvist Y John Vanbiesbrouck such as Rangers who have won the Vezina since the current criteria for the award were established in 1981-82.

Some hoped it might be a unanimous choice, but Carolina’s Frederik Andersen, Tampa Bay goalie Andrey Vasilyevsky and the New York Islanders Ilya Sorokin he also got first-place votes.

Detroit Red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider he won the Calder Memorial Trophy for Rookie of the Year, as voted by the PHWA. He played all 82 games for the Red Wings and averaged 23:02 in ice time per game, best among rookies. He led all rookie defensemen in points (50), the third-most for a first-year blueliner in the past 30 years. He led all rookies in assists (43) and power-play points (21).

Seider got a good laugh at the awards when he mentioned that his parents didn’t attend because they had just returned from vacation in Croatia.

“They scheduled their vacations and there just weren’t any more days to get away from home,” he said. “They definitely saw. Very proud to bring something back [for them].”

Seider collected 170 first-place votes. trevor zegras, the Anaheim Ducks forward who created several standout goals this season, was second with 15 first-place votes. Rookie for the Toronto Maple Leafs michael buntingwho stood out for being 26 years old, was third in the vote.

Julien Brise Bois of the Tampa Bay Lightning, chris drury of the New York Rangers and joe sakic of the Colorado Avalanche are the three finalists for the 2021-22 Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award. The winner will be announced at the NHL draft next month in Montreal.

The NHL Awards were held at the Armature Works in Tampa on the day off between Games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Final. The league previously announced several prizes during the playoffs: Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award: anze kopitar, Los Angeles Kings; Jack Adams Award: Daryl Sutter, Calgary Flames; Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: tortoiseshell price, Montreal Canadians; Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award: Noel Acton of Baltimore, Md. Frank J. Selke Trophy for Outstanding Defensive Forward: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for Most Chivalrous Player: Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets; King Clancy Memorial Trophy for Community Service: Subban PKNew Jersey Devils.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.