The British Book Awards name their winners for 2022

The ‘Book of the Year’ series of 14 content-related British Book Awards includes work from many well-known publishers.

At the British Book Awards, the ‘Nibbies’, on May 23 at Grosvenor House in London. Image: British Book Awards video

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Philip Jones: ‘The Breadth and Power of Publishing’

men its annual awards ceremony on Monday night (May 23), the British Book Awards named Marcus Rashford with Carl Anka the winners of the overall Book of the Year category for Children’s Book You are a champion.

Additionally, Marian Keyes was named Author of the Year, and Dapo Adeola was named Illustrator of the Year, as the show, also known as Nibbies, returned to its pre-COVID-19 venue, London’s JW Marriott Grosvenor House. There, the show has the space and production setting to stage itself with the shimmer of laser light and noise enjoyed by its fans.

The UK is the international book business leader in book and publication awards, both in number of awards programs and enthusiasm for them. This program, owned and skillfully produced each year by the booksellerthis year it has 31 categories, 14 of them content-related and 17 of them industry honors.

You can see this thanks to a good quality digital broadcast of the proceedings, which we’ve embedded for you below.

What Publication prospects readers know, the British Book Awards in 2017 were bought by the booksellerthen under the leadership of Nigel Roby, from the state of News publication’ founder, Fred Newman. His reappearance that year ended a 13-year hiatus and the Nibbies have been a station of the cross on the British awards pilgrimage every year since.

philip jones

In his role as Chair of the judges at the British Book Awards, bookshop editor Philip Jones is quoted as saying: From the defense of Marcus Rashford and Dapo Adeolo, to the art of Caleb Azumah Nelson, Jade LB and Meg Mason, to the storytelling of Billy Connolly, Marian Keyes, Ian Rankin and Cressida Cowell, to the story told by Paul McCartney, Clare Chambers, Phil Earle and Sathnam Sanghera, the winners of this year’s British Book Awards, show the remarkable breadth and power of publishing today at a time when books, and those who make them, deliver.”

We’ve updated this story (June 5) with the show’s list of trade industry winners, after the most public “Book of the Year” awards.

‘Book of the Year’ 2022 British Book Awards
  • Fiction: MegaMason, Sadness Y Bliss (Weidenfeld and Nicolson, Orion)
  • Fiction premiere: Caleb Azumah Nelson, Open Water (Penguin General, Viking)
  • Nonfiction lifestyle: Paul McCartney, the Lyrics: 1956 to the present (Penguin Press, Allen Lane)
  • Nonfiction Narrative: Sathnam Sanghera, empireland (Penguin General, Viking)
  • Children’s fiction: Phil Earl, When the Darling falls (Andersen Press)
  • nonfiction for children: Marcus Rashford with Carl Anka, You are a champion (Macmillan Children’s Books)
  • illustrated for children: Dapo Adeola and 18 illustrators, Hears You! (Random House Penguin, Puffin)
  • Discover: JadeLB, kaisha the Sketch (#MerkyBooks)
  • Crime and Thriller: William McIlvanney and Ian Rankin, the Dark Remains (canon gate)
  • Page turner: clear cameras, Small pleasures (Orion, Weidenfeld and Nicolson)
  • Audiobook: Fiction Cressida Cowell, Narrator: David Tennant, the wizards at once: never and forever (Hodder Children’s Books)
  • Audiobook: NonfictionBilly Connolly, Windswept Y Interesting (Two Ways, John Murray Press)
Commercial winners of the British Book Awards 2022

Less discussed than previous “Book of the Year” content awards are the annual business awards presented by the Nibbies. In fact, these may be of great interest to our professional readers here at Publication prospects.

  • Small Press of the Year: Vertebrate Publishing (we have a piece from 2018 in an interesting move this house was making in relation to the gender gap in outdoor adventure literature)
  • Independent Bookstore of the Year Y Children’s Bookstore of the Year: The Bookshop, Crediton, Devon
  • Children’s Publisher of the Year: knights of
  • Marketing Strategy of the Year: Alexia Thomaidis and Zoe Coxon, for open watergeneral penguin
  • Book Retailer of the Year: (we have an interview with founder Andy Hunter since January)
  • Advertising campaign of the year: drewjerrison, Detransition, Baby by Torrey Peters, Profile Books
  • Writer of the Year: Alexandra Pringle, Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Single Bookcase of the Year: Kerry Gilmartin, Waterstones
  • Literary Agent of the Year: Becky Thomas, Lewinsohn Literary Agency
  • Designer of the year: Micaela Alcaino
  • Export: Thames and Hudson
  • Academic, Educational and Professional Editor of the Year: Jessica KingsleyEditors
  • Law Professional of the Year: jessica neale
  • Impression of the year: Viper Books/Profile Books
  • Freelance Publisher of the Year: pushkin press
  • Publisher of the Year: Simon and Schuster
  • Freedom to publish: HarperCollins and Arabella Pike (this is the program’s first Freedom To Publish Award; more on the subject is here)

The full lists of winners in both the trade and “book of the year” ranks are here.

This is the publication of Perspectives’ awards report 96 published in the 98 days since our 2022 operations began on January 3.

More information about the British Book Awards is here. More from us about publishing and book awards in general is here. And more about the UK book market and industry is here.

Porter Anderson is a former associate editor of The FutureBook at The Bookseller.

More from us on the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic and its impact on international book publishing is here.

About the Author

goalie anderson

Facebook Twitter Google+

Porter Anderson is a non-resident fellow at Trends Research & Advisory, and has been named International Business Press Journalist of the Year at the London Book Fair International Excellence Awards. He is editor-in-chief of Publishing Perspectives. He was previously associate editor of The FutureBook at The Bookseller in London. Anderson was a senior producer and anchor for, CNN International and CNN USA for more than a decade. As an art critic (National Institute of Critics), he was on The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which is now owned and operated by Jane Friedman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.