NHL Awards Connor McDavid Auston Matthews

With Tuesday being an off day in the Stanley Cup Final, the 2022 NHL Awards will be held in Tampa Bay and the winners of the Calder Memorial Trophy, Hart Memorial Trophy, James Norris Memorial Trophy, Ted Lindsay and the Vezina Trophy.

Here’s a quick look at the nominees and who may have the best chance of taking home some hardware.

Hart Memorial Trophy

embedded image

auston matthewsThe Toronto Maple Leaves
Connor McDavidEdmonton Tankers
Igor ShesterkinNew York Rangers

The NHL’s MVP award comes down to a battle between two of the best offensive players in the game and a superstar goalie.

Star of the Edmonton Tankers Connor McDavidthe NHL’s leading points scorer with a career-best 123 points in 80 games will look to capture a third Hart Memorial trophy while Toronto Maple Leafs sharpshooter auston matthews he hopes to win his first after scoring 60 goals in 73 contests, the best mark in the league. The underdog in this race will be the goalie for the New York Rangers. Igor Shesterkin. The 26-year-old led the NHL in goals-against average (2.07) and save percentage (.935) with six shutouts and an impressive 36-13-4 record.

James Norris Memorial Trophy

embedded image

Victor Hedmantampa bay lightning
josi romanNashville Predators
Cala Makarcolorado avalanche

If this were a playoff prize, the Colorado Avalanche stallion Cala Makar He could very well be insurance for the NHL’s best defenseman honor with the 23-year-old posting 26 points in 17 games so far in the postseason and there’s still time to add to his tally.

However, the voters decided the winner of the James Norris Memorial Trophy at the end of the regular season, which made the correct prediction that much more difficult.

Makar still has a great chance to win after posting 28 goals and 58 assists in 77 games in 2021-22, only his fourth season with the Avs, but it will be contested by the Nashville Predators veteran. josi roman, who led all blueliners with an incredible 96 points, including 23 goals and 73 assists in 80 games. The 32-year-old won his first Norris Trophy two years ago.

Tampa Bay Lightning Defense Victor Hedmanwinner of the 2018 Norris Trophy, he is also nominated after scoring 20 goals and 65 assists in 82 games.

Vezina Trophy

embedded image

Jacob MarkstromCalgary Flames
juuse sarosNashville Predators
Igor ShesterkinNew York Rangers

Also nominated for the MVP award, Shesterkin will be hard to beat for the Vezina Trophy after leading the league in both goals against average and save percentage.

The Russian will be contested by the Calgary Flames goalkeeper Jacob Markstromwho went 37-15-9 with a 2.22 GAA, .922 save percentage and a league-best nine shutouts, as well as juuse saros from the Nashville Predators, who won 38 games in 2021-22, second-best in the NHL.

Shesterkin, Markstrom and Saros have never won the Vezina.

Calder Memorial Trophy

embedded image

michael buntingThe Toronto Maple Leaves
Moritz Seider, Detroit Red Wings
trevor zegrasanaheim ducks

maple leaves ahead michael bunting, 26, was still considered a rookie this season despite spending time with the Arizona Coyotes in each of the previous two seasons. That experience may have helped, as Bunting led all rookies with 63 points in 79 games, including 23 goals and 40 assists.

Sophomore for the Anaheim Ducks trevor zegraswho appeared on the highlight reels numerous times this season with lacrosse-style goals from behind the net, had 23 goals and 38 assists in 75 games.

Finally, Detroit Red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider, who appeared in his first NHL games this season as a true rookie, had seven goals and 43 assists in 82 games after the Wings drafted the German sixth overall in the 2019 NHL Entry Draft.

Ted Lindsay Award

embedded image

josi romanNashville Predators
auston matthewsThe Toronto Maple Leaves
Connor McDavidEdmonton Tankers

It will be interesting to see who takes home the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the league’s Most Valuable Player as voted on by the players, and whether it differs from the Hart Memorial Trophy. McDavid has won it three times in his career, while Josi and Matthews have never earned the honor.

These are the prizes that have already been awarded:

NHL Mark Messier Leadership Award – anze kopitarLos Angeles Kings

Jack Adams Award – Darryl Sutter, Calgary Flames

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy – tortoiseshell priceMontreal Canadians

Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award – Noel Acton

Selke-Trophy Patrice BergeronBoston Bruins

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy – Kyle Connorwinnipeg jets

King Clancy Memorial Trophy – Subban PKNew Jersey Devils

Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award – Revealed July 7

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.