Mark Critch, Dawn Dumont and Rick Mercer Named Finalists for $25K Leacock Medal for Humor

Canada’s prize for literary humour, the Stephen Leacock Medal, has announced its list of nominees for 2022.

The medal will be awarded to one of three finalists: Mark Critch, Dawn Dumont and Rick Mercer. The winner will receive a prize of $25,000.

The three finalists were chosen from a Long list of 10 titles. 78 titles were under consideration this year.

Presented by Stephen Leacock Associates, the award annually recognizes the best in Canadian humorous writing. The organization acknowledged the news that Saskatchewan finalist Dumont (also known as Dawn Walker) and her son were missing and were last seen on July 22.

“While Leacock Associates is happy and proud to include Dawn Dumont as one of the 2022 Leacock Medal Finalists, we are extremely concerned about the current safety of Ms. Dumont, who also goes by the name Dawn Walker. She and her son Vincent have been missing in Saskatchewan since July 22. Saskatoon Police and the RCMP continue their ongoing investigation,” the organization said in a statement.

Critch is nominated for his memoir A critch embarrassment.

In A critch embarrassmentCritch looks back at some of the biggest moments of his career and country, revealing all the things you might not have known happened along the way.

Critch is a Canadian comedian. For 14 years, he starred in CBC’s flagship comedy series. This hour has 22 minutes. He has also hosted the Halifax Comedy Festival and has written for and appeared on the just to laugh comedy party He is also the author of the above memoirs. son of critchwhich was adapted into a series for CBC Television.

Dumont is a finalist for his novel Prairie Chicken Dance Tour.

Prairie Chicken Dance Tour is loosely based on the true story of a group of indigenous dancers who left Saskatchewan and toured Europe in the 1970s. Weaving a comedic thread through an engaging cast of characters, Dumont brings his trademark wit to this series of strange and funny adventures. The novel was also nominated for a 2022 Saskatchewan Book Award.

Dumont is a Plains Cree writer, comedian, and actor who lives in Saskatoon. she is the author of rose race, glass beads Y no one cries at bingowhich was shortlisted for the 2012 Alberta Readers Choice Awards, the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Award, and the First Nation Communities READ Award.

The third finalist is Mercer’s memoir talking to canadians.

In the book, Mercer traces his rise from an unpromising schoolboy to the heights of television fame. In a memoir that’s vulnerable, candid, and comical, talking to canadians reflects on Mercer’s life and career.

Mercer rose to fame with his one-man show Show me the button, I’ll push it or Charles Lynch must die. who toured Canada before co-creating and starring in CBC’s long-running series This Hour Has 22 Minutes. he was also the great deal of The Rick Mercer Report for 15 seasons.

“The books selected for the Stephen Leacock Medal must not only be humorous, but also well-written, displaying style and depth. This year’s three finalists meet those criteria without a doubt,” said Leacock Associates President Michael Hill. .

“Our judging panel selected three outstanding books from 78 entries. It will be exciting to see which one was determined to be the most humorous of the year.”

The winner will be announced on September 17, 2022.

The Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humor, an annual literary award given to the funniest Canadian book of the year, increased the grand prize amount from $15,000 to $25,000 in 2022.

The announcement will take place at a gala dinner that will also be attended by the 2020 and 2021 shortlisted authors after previous celebrations were delayed due to the pandemic.

2022 marks the 75th anniversary of the award. The award has been given since 1947.

Thomas King won the 2021 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humor for his novel indians on vacation.

Past winners include Heidi LM Jacobs, Robertson Davies, Pierre Berton, Farley Mowat, Paul Quarrington, Mordecai Richler, Stuart McLean, Terry Fallis, Susan Juby, and Cassie Stocks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.